Here is the updated list of Current Chief Minister of India. CM and Lieutenant Governors / Administrators  of 29 Indian States and 7 Union Territories as on September 2019

Current Chief Minister

States and Union Territories of India

India is a union of states.  There are 29 states and 7 union territories. These states and union territories are again divided into districts and other areas.

In the Republic of India, the Main Minister of each of the states of 29 states and two union territories (Delhi and Puducherry) is called Chief Minister. According to the Constitution of India, the governor is the legal head at the state level but in fact, the executive authority is the chief minister. After the state assembly elections, the governor usually invites the majority party (or coalition) to form a government.

The governor appoints the Chief Minister whose cabinet is collectively responsible for the assembly. If the trust is received in the assembly, then the Chief Minister’s tenure usually is for a maximum of 5 years; In addition, there is no limit to the number of chief ministers’ term. Information as per

List of Current Chief Minister of all 29 States of India

Sl. State and/or Union Territory Chief Minister Took in Office (mm/dd/yyyy) Party
1 Andhra Pradesh Y. S. Jaganmohan Reddy 30 May 2019 YSR Congress Party
3 Arunachal Pradesh Pema Khandu 17 July 2016 Bharatiya Janata Party
4 Assam Shri Sarbananda Sonowal 24 May 2016 Bharatiya Janata Party
5 Bihar Shri Nitish Kumar 22 February 2015 Janata Dal (United)
7 Chhattisgarh Bhupesh Baghel 17 December 2018 Indian National Congress
10 Delhi (NCT) Shri Arvind Kejriwal 14 February 2015 Aam Aadmi Party
11 Goa Pramod Sawant 19 Mar 2019 Bharatiya Janata Party
12 Gujarat Shri Vijaybhai R. Rupani 7 August 2016 Bharatiya Janata Party
13 Haryana Shri Manohar Lal 26 October 2014 Bharatiya Janata Party
14 Himachal Pradesh Jai Ram Thakur 27 December 2017 Bharatiya Janata Party
15 Jammu and Kashmir President’s Rule 20 December 2018
16 Jharkhand Shri Raghubar Das 28 December 2014 Bharatiya Janata Party
17 Karnataka B. S. Yediyurappa 26 July 2019 Bharatiya Janata Party
18 Kerala Shri Pinarayi Vijayan 25 May 2016 Communist Party of India (Marxist)
20 Madhya Pradesh Shri Kamal Nath 17 December 2018 Indian National Congress
21 Maharashtra Shri Devendra Fadnavis 31 October 2014 Bharatiya Janata Party
22 Manipur Nongthombam Biren Singh 15 March 2017 Bharatiya Janata Party
23 Meghalaya Shri Conrad Sangma Mar 6, 2018 National People’s Party
24 Mizoram Shri Zoramthanga 15 December 2018 Mizo National Front
25 Nagaland Neiphiu Rio Mar 8, 2018 Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party
26 Odisha Shri Naveen Patnaik 5 March 2000 Biju Janata Dal
27 Puducherry (UT) Shri. V. Narayanasamy 6 June 2016 Indian National Congress
28 Punjab Shri Captain Amarinder Singh 16 March 2017 Indian National Congress
29 Rajasthan Smt. Ashok Gehlot 17 December 2018 Indian National Congress
30 Sikkim Shri Prem Singh Tamang 27 May 2019 Sikkim Krantikari Morcha
31 Tamil Nadu Edappadi K Palaniswami 16 February 2017 All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
32 Telangana Shri K Chandrasekhar Rao 2 June 2014 Telangana Rashtra Samithi
33 Tripura Shri Biplab Kumar Deb Mar 9, 2018 Bharatiya Janata Party
34 Uttar Pradesh Shri Yogi Adityanath 19 March 2017 Bharatiya Janata Party
35 Uttarakhand Trivendra Singh Rawat 18 March 2017 Bharatiya Janata Party
36 West Bengal Km. Mamata Banerjee 20 May 2011 All India Trinamool Congress

List of Current Chief Minister / Lieutenant Governors / Administrators of all 7 UT  ( Union Territories ) of India

SL Union Territory Capital Chief Minister / Lieutenant Governors & Administrators
1 Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair Admiral D K Joshi (Lieutenant Governor)  (Lt. Governor)
2 Chandigarh Chandigarh Shri.V.P. Singh Badnore (Administrator)
3 Dadar and Nagar Haveli Silvassa Shri Praful Patel (Administrator)
4 Daman and Diu Daman Shri Praful Patel (Administrator)
5 Delhi Delhi ⇒ Arvind Kejriwal (Chief Minister)
Took in Office : 4 February 2015
Party : Aam Aadmi Party
⇒ Shri Anil Baijal (Lieutenant Governor)
6 Lakshadweep Kavaratti Shri Farooq Khan, IPS, (Retd.) (Administrator)
7 Puducherry Puducherry ⇒  Shri. V. Narayanasamy (Chief Minister)
Took in Office : 6 June 2016
Party : Indian National Congress
⇒ Dr. Kiran Bedi, IPS, (Retd.) (Lieutenant Governor)

Geographical Information about India GK Questions and Answers

Thanks for reading the post on Current Chief Minister of India । All CM of India States & UT as September 2019. Know about India Map. Want to know more about MBA AssignmentsModel papersProject reports, click on the links.

Spread the love
  • 5

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Sign up
Lost your password? Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.
We do not share your personal details with anyone.